Transit Route Redesign Steering Committee		
Contact	Agency	Email Address
August Rudisell, Freddy Gipp (alternate)	Public Transit Advisory Committee (PTAC)	srudisell@gmail.com, fredgipp@gmail.com
Andrew Moore, Max Schieber (alternate)	KU Transit Commission	a900m368@ku.edu, m579s940@ku.edu
Carol Bowen, Charlie Bryan (alternate)	Multimodal Transportation Commission	carol.bowen@gmail.com, cwbryan@gmail.com
Molly Adams, AJ Holder, Alexander Manygoats Jr.	Haskell Indian Nations University	molly.adams@HASKELL.edu, AJHolder630@gmail.com, cheiigoatsjr@icloud.com
Gary Webber	Lawrence Association of Neighborhoods (LAN)	gkwebber@gmail.com
Ron May	Lawrence Public Schools	rkmay@usd497.org
Kenny Yates	Lawrence Community Shelter	kennethy@lawrenceshelter.org
Megan Poindexter	United Way Human Services Coalition/SRC	mpoindexter@YourSRC.org
Hugh Carter	The Chamber	hcarter@lawrencechamber.com
Justin Priest	First Transit Bus Operator	atu1754jrpriest@gmail.com
Chris Tilden	LiveWell Douglas County	christilden@hotmail.com
Staff Team Subset of Steering Committee		
Adam Weigel/ Felice Lavergne	Lawrence Transit	aweigel@lawrenceks.org / flavergne@lawrenceks.org
Gary Reinheimer	Municipal Services & Operations	greinheimer@lawrenceks.org
Farris Muhammad	City of Lawrence Director of Equity & Inclusion	fmuhammad@lawrenceks.org
Aaron Quisenberry/ Margretta de Vries	KU Transportation Services	aquisenberry@ku.edu / mdevries@ku.edu
Ginger Doll/ Tiffany Thorp	First Transit	Ginger.Doll@firstgroup.com / Tiffany.Thorp@firstgroup.com
Jon Moore	KDOT	Jon.Moore@ks.gov
Eva Steinman	FTA Region VII	eva.steinman@dot.gov
Jessica Mortinger/ Ashley Myers	Metropolitan Planning Organization	<pre>jmortinger@lawrenceks.org / amyers@lawrenceks.org</pre>
Kim Criner-Ritchie	L-DC Sustainability Office	kcrinerritchie@douglascountyks.org
Laura McCulloch	L-DC Public Health	Imcculloch@ldchealth.org
Melissa Fisher Isaacs	Lawrence Public Library	mfisherisaacs@lawrence.lib.ks.us

**Committee Purpose:** The Transit Route Redesign Steering Committee will guide the development of the route redesign consulted project by providing input on interacting with the public and reviewing draft deliverables. The project website is <a href="https://lawrencetransit.org/transfer-facility.">https://lawrencetransit.org/transfer-facility.</a>

**Project Purpose:** The Lawrence Transit/KU on Wheels service needs a dedicated bus transfer location as transfers currently occur on street, in front of the Lawrence Public Library (at 707 Vermont St) without enough space for the buses. It has been a subject of study for many years including a 2014 Lawrence Transit Center Location Analysis and a 2016 TIGER Application. The 2018 Bus Transfer Location Analysis identified the southeast corner of Bob Billings Parkway and Crestline Drive as a potential location. In July 2020, KU and the City of Lawrence signed an agreement to develop a bus transfer center at that location.

Development of the transfer center will necessitate changes in route structures, and route redesign will inform design decisions for the transfer facility. Different route design concepts may result in different transfer facility needs. Thus the two processes (route redesign and facility design) are intrinsically linked and must operate in tandem. Key milestones within this route structuring process will be identified within the facility design process. An example of a milestone includes knowing how many bus bays are needed at the transfer center.

A KU Urban Planning class conducted a preliminary analysis of route redesign during the Fall 2020 semester. This consultant lead study will further refine the route redesign in a parallel process to designing the transfer center. The estimated opening date of the transfer center is August 2022.

This Steering Committee was established by the MPO Policy Board on 12/17/20.

<sup>\*</sup>This list will be updated as people are appointed. The list was last updated on 3/23/21.